Chorley vs Doncaster Rovers, FA Cup First Round, Victory Park, 11/11/18

I said last week that I was going to get to a game on Saturday 10th, however I didn’t. I’ve been signed off work for two months due to my mental health issues, as I went into a meltdown on Wednesday, and the doctor clearly agreed that I needed to rediscover my passion for life again. However, despite my determination to get to a game, I soon realised that I need to start walking before I can run, and, on that basis, I decided to prioritise this game.

Originally, I hadn’t been planning to attend this game, as I hadn’t been to any of the previous rounds. But after texting my Uncle Ed about the game, I soon changed my mind as the opportunity to see my Uncle was something I wasn’t going to turn down. My Uncle and I are very similar people, in fact we share the same birthday as I made my entrance into the world on his 22nd birthday. As a kid I didn’t see a lot of him, but then again, I didn’t see a lot of my mum’s side of the family, but that’s because they are all very low-maintenance people and don’t need to be in constant contact with each other. As I went to university I began to see more of “Sid” as he popped along to the odd Shrewsbury Town game. I then discovered he knew how to use a mobile phone, and since then we’ve been in constant contact about football. With my move to Chorley, my Uncle Ed fell in love with the place upon his first visit, and even though he had travelled from Birmingham to Edinburgh and back the day before, nothing was to stop him getting to this game.

Anyway, enough about my family, let’s get to the football. My Uncle eventually arrived in Chorley before midday, as Northern Rail did their best to ensure that travelling was a complete nightmare. After a brief stop at home, we headed down to Victory Park, where I separated with £5 in exchange for a special edition programme. Since reading the programme I can now say that it was worth the price. Although I wasn’t happy with one part.

Now I don’t know if this has been taken out of context, but a part of the interview with Marcus Carver really annoyed me.

“In a normal game for us there are no cameras and not many people taking a massive interest in the game so there isn’t any need to do a massive celebration…”

Each to their own there Marcus, but if I am reading this correctly, I would just like to point something out. Chorley’s attendances this season have constantly been 1,000 plus. That seems like quite a few people taking an interest in the game, and most of those people are there to support Chorley, so what the hell is he going on about, “There isn’t any need to do a massive celebration”? I’m sorry Marcus but you really have put your foot in your mouth there, and I’m not surprised that the start of the article begins with a note about the criticism he receives for not scoring as much as he should. Maybe if he tried motivating himself for regular league games, like he does for his celebrations in front of the TV games, then he might score more. (SPOILER: HE DIDN’T SCORE TODAY!)

I genuinely hope that he has been misquoted, as I want to support the players not criticise them, but this wasn’t something I was going to ignore.

Before we could enter Victory Park, the stewards stopped us to observe the two minutes silence, which I would love to say was perfectly observed however there are still people out there that don’t get the hint to shut up when everyone else is stood in silence. The worst thing is it was an old bloke that couldn’t keep quiet, I would’ve expected him to show a bit more respect.

Unfortunately, the stewards had got it wrong, and began to allow us into the ground at the start of the actual two minutes silence. As the ref blew his whistle to signal the beginning of the two minutes silence, the stewards took this as the signal that the silence had ended. Upon entering the ground, it was just as simple as just joining in with the actual silence, and this silence was observed perfectly.

With segregation in place, the Duke Street terrace was packed, and we made our way to the back of the stand to try and get a good view of the action. Whilst the Duke Street terrace was busy, I didn’t envy the Doncaster Rovers fans who were crammed underneath the Piling Lane End.

Our opponents for today began life in 1879 and were formed by Albert Jenkins who worked as a fitter at the Great Northern Railway works. He gathered friends to play a match against the Yorkshire Institute for the Deaf and Dumb in September 1879, a game which ended 4-4. Following this game, the team took a rest and discussed playing more and out of this discussion Doncaster Rovers were born.

Rovers first entered the FA Cup in the 1888-89 season but were beaten 9-1 by Rotherham Town. Doncaster were a founder member of the Midland Alliance League in 1890, and they finished the season in second. The following season saw them enter the Sheffield and Hallamshire FA Challenge Cup, beating Sheffield United to win the final. In the same season they also moved up to the Midland League and were champions in 1897 and 1899.

Doncaster were elected into the Football League in 1901, as they replaced New Brighton Tower. In their first season Doncaster achieved their highest position ever, as they finished 7th in the Football League Second Division. Rovers last only two seasons in the league, before being voted out in favour of Bradford City.

Following demotion, they re-joined the Midland League, finishing 11th out of 18, but were elected back to Division Two. They finished the 1904-05 season bottom of the league with three wins, two draws and twenty-nine defeats. Again, they were voted out, and they re-joined the Midland League before debts run up over the years led to voluntary liquidation in August 1914.

In 1919 the club reformed, and they once again re-joined the Midland League a year later, in their third season they moved to Belle Vue, and finished runners-up seeing them accepted into the Football League Division Three North for 1923-24 to replace Stalybridge Celtic.

Doncaster ended their first season back in the Football League in 9th position, and they began to rise towards the top of the table, then decline towards the bottom over the next few seasons. In the early 1930s they finished near the top on a consistent basis and finally became Champions in 1935. Rovers spent two seasons in Division Two before being relegated in 1937.

Following the Second World War, Doncaster set a record for the most games won in a league system (33), a record they set whilst becoming Third Division North champions in 1947. They were relegated the following season, but two years later they won the Third Division North again, this time they spent eight seasons in the Second Division, their most successful period to date.

Ken Richardson, who can simply be described as the human equivalent to dog faeces, took over the club in the early 90s. He did plough a lot of money into Rovers with a new stadium on his mind. When he was refused a new stadium by the council, he threw a temper tantrum. He hired three men to torch Belle Vue and planned to sell the ground to developers, this saw him jailed for four years, ruined Belle Vue and led Rovers edging closer to relegation. Inevitably they were relegated in 1998, with a goal difference of -83. Richardson had withdrawn his financial backing, leading the club into an administration order. To ease the financial burden several key players left, and the ones that remained at the club weren’t up to the task.

Before their first season in the Conference, the club was bought by the Westferry Consortium who invested heavily into the club. Things were looking up for Rovers, and they spent five seasons in the Conference before winning the 2003 Conference Play-Off Final. Rovers were promoted at the first time of asking as they achieved promotion to the third tier as Champions.

Doncaster moved in December 2006 to their new Keepmoat Stadium home, as promised by the Westferry Consortium. Rovers played their first game at their new home against Huddersfield Town on New Year’s Day, 2007.

Following a half century absence, Doncaster returned to the Championship in 2008, as they finished third in the league. Rovers made their way to the Play-Off Final and at Wembley they beat Leeds United 1-0 to secure promotion.

Rovers remained in the Championship until 2012, when they were relegated to League One with three games still to play. Rovers had experimented with bringing in several players on loans and short-term contracts, and most crucially on low wages. Rovers bounced back immediately as they finished as Champions of League One in 2013.

John Ryan stepped down as Chairman after fifteen years, minutes before the kick-off of a Championship encounter with Barnsley at Oakwell. There had been rumours of boardroom disagreements following a proposed takeover bid by hedge-fund consortium led by Sequentia Capital.

Doncaster were relegated back to League One in 2014 and dropped down to League Two in 2016. Rovers again bounced back immediately as they finished third in League Two.

With our recent form, I was feeling nervous about this game, as I expected Doncaster Rovers to attack, and to rip us apart. But they didn’t. Chorley were up for this game, and they proved so in the second minute, as Josh O’Keefe headed home an Adam Blakeman corner to give us the lead.

Following the goal, we continued to push forward, and a disappointing mix-up in defence saw Doncaster equalise in the eleventh minute. Doncaster had broken forward, and Matt Urwin saved the first effort, however we failed to clear the ball and Herbie Kane pocked home.

Marcus Carver was to rattle the post with a powerful shot, and with a little more luck he would have had an excuse to celebrate in front of the cameras. As it was, we regained the lead in the 43rd minute as Courtney Meppen-Walter hit a scruffy shot which somehow made its way into the back of the net.

Half Time: Chorley 2-1 Doncaster Rovers (O’Keefe 2, Meppen-Walter 43 – Kane 11)

I spent most of half-time in disbelief that Chorley were winning this game, we deserved to be leading the game, but I still couldn’t believe it given our recent form. My Uncle Ed on the other hand spent the half-time break rather chuffed with his decision to come and watch the game!

As expected, Doncaster came out of the break on the attack, and began to put us under pressure. Matt Urwin in the Chorley goal began to perform heroics to keep our lead intact and left me wondering why we haven’t signed him on a full-time basis yet.

Things were to get difficult in the 61st minute, as Matt Challoner saw red for what I now know was a horrendous challenge. From behind the goal I had a good view of the challenge but didn’t see the amount of contact that Challoner made on Herbie Kane. Initially I felt that Kane was milking it and began to let my feelings be known. Correctly, the ref sent Challoner off, and Josh Wilson, who was an unused substitute picked up a yellow card for his involvement in the handbags that followed the challenge. People have pointed out since the game, that they feel it should have been a penalty, but I agree with the referee’s decision to give a free-kick, the challenge took place exactly on the edge of the area, and as such a free-kick was the correct decision for me.

We were forced to go defensive at this point, and the game turned into Doncaster knocking at the door, and Chorley attempting to hold the door shut. Unfortunately, Doncaster found a way in, and equalised in the 77th minute.

It’s hard to be upset with the equaliser given the absolute quality of Herbie Kane’s goal. Kane sent an exquisite, curling shot into the top right corner, and despite Urwin being at full stretch, he was unable to stop the ball. Honestly Kane’s goal deserves to win goal of the round, it was simply breath-taking.

Following six minutes of extra time, and some backs to the wall defending, the referee blew his whistle setting up a replay. The replay will be financially good for us, and hopefully the players will rise to the occasion, cameras or no cameras.

Final Score: Chorley 2-2 Doncaster Rovers (O’Keefe 2, Meppen-Walter 43 – Kane 11, 77)

I must admit that I was slightly disappointed as I walked away from Victory Park, we’d been in a good position and if we’d been able to finish the game with eleven men then maybe we would have held on to the win.

Following the game, we headed to town for a couple of pints in the Shepherd’s Ale House and the Crown. I’m sure there will be more information on my Uncle’s blog about the drink, so click here.

I’m not sure if I’ll be going to the replay, as I’m going to the Salford City vs Shrewsbury Town replay on Wednesday 21st. As I said at the start of the blog, I need to be able to walk before I can run, but if I feel up to it then I’ll go. This Saturday, the 17th, will see me at Aggborough for Kidderminster Harriers vs Chorley.

Cost: £17 (£12 ticket & £5 programme)

Attendance: 3239

Flickr: https://www.flickr.com/photos/139632000@N07/albums/72157703587433955

Leave a comment